Menu Toggle menu

Cincinnati Law Celebrates its Graduates at the 183rd Hooding Ceremony

Cincinnati Law will celebrate the accomplishments of 119 gradates at its 183rd Hooding ceremony on May 14, 2016 at 1:00 p.m. at the Duke Energy Center. Keynote speaker will be alumnus John D. Holschuh, Jr., president of the Ohio State Bar Association. Dean Jennifer S. Bard, Nippert Professor of Law, will preside over the celebration.

Cincinnati, OH—When the Cincinnati Law School was formed in 1833, 17 students matriculated, learning the law in a small classroom located above the law offices of Walker and King at the corner of Third and Main. Thirteen students would graduate, and the fledging law school was deemed a success.

This year, representing the scale by which the law school has grown, Cincinnati Law will confer degrees on 119 graduates, including 18 LLM students on Saturday, May 14 at 1:00 p.m. at the Grand Ballroom B, Duke Energy Convention Center.

“This is an extraordinary class and I’m excited about the hooding ceremony and our fantastic speaker, John Holschuh, Jr,” said Jennifer S. Bard, Dean and Nippert Professor of Law.

John D. Holschuh, Jr., ’80, partner at Santen & Hughes LPA and president of the Ohio State Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker. He has spent his career at Santen and Hughes, focusing on the areas of medical malpractice and personal injury litigation. A past president of the Cincinnati Bar Association and the Cincinnati Bar Foundation, he is a Fellow in the American College of Trial Lawyers, and Advocate of the American Board of Trial Advocates and a Fellow of the International Society of Barristers.

Holschuh has been listed in The Best Lawyers in America in the area of personal injury litigation for the past 18 years. He was recognized in Best Lawyers 2014 as a "Lawyer of the Year". He has been recognized as an "Ohio Super Lawyer" for the last 13 years and since 2011 is one of the "Top 50" Cincinnati Super Lawyers and "Top 100" Ohio Super Lawyers. He was also recognized as "The Best of the Best" Leading Lawyers in 2011 by Cincinnati Magazine in the area of malpractice.

The recipient of the 2016 Nicholas Longworth, III Alumni Achievement Award is Paula Boggs Muething ‘03, Cincinnati city solicitor. Prior to joining the City, she was general counsel and vice-president of Community Revitalization of the Port of Greater Cincinnati Development Authority, a county-wide economic development agency. While at the Port Authority, she worked on a number of redevelopment initiatives, including operating the Hamilton County Land Reutilization Corporation on behalf of the Landbank Board.

Boggs Muething was previously a litigator for the City of Cincinnati Law Department; an associate at Keating, Muething and Klekamp, PLL; and a law clerk for the Honorable James E. Keller of the Supreme Court of Kentucky.

This year’s class chose Professor Sean Mangan as faculty reader; Professor Janet Moore as Faculty hooder; and, Professor Christopher Bryant as faculty assistant hooder. Tickets are not required and there is no limit to the number of guests. The 90 minute ceremony will be followed by a reception in the lobby.