Menu Toggle menu

Trial Practice Team Takes 2nd Place in first OAG Trial Competition

Congratulations to College of Law trial team members: 3Ls-- Eric Kmetz, Abby Chermely, Sydney Saffold; and 2Ls-- Alycia Walker, and Kylie Conley who took second place at the first Ohio Attorney General Trial Competition, held November 2-3, 2013.  Additionally, Chermely was named “Best Attorney” in her round on Saturday, and Walker was named “Best Attorney” both days. Kmetz won the award for “Best Witness.”

The competition, which took place at the Franklin County (OH) Courthouse, was designed to provide a valuable learning opportunity for Ohio law school students and to offer insights into public service careers.  Said Attorney General Mike DeWine in a congratulatory press release about the event, “This competition was founded to help law students learn about public service legal careers. From prosecutors to representing state agencies to being taxpayer watchdogs, there are many ways public service lawyers help protect Ohio families.”

He continued, “I applaud…all the teams that participated in our mock trial competition.”

The competition simulated litigation regarding a telemarking fraud case where each law school team presented both the state’s and defense’s case.  Teams participated in two trial rounds on Saturday with the top two teams advancing to a final round Sunday.

Each team was coached by litigators from The Ohio Attorney General’s Office and other public service offices from around the state. The College of Law was ably assisted by Chris Wagner ’00, managing attorney of the OAG’s Cincinnati Regional Office.

The final round of the competition was judged by U.S. District Court Judge Edmund Sargus, Delaware County Judge David Gormley, and the State of Ohio’s Solicitor Eric Murphy. Other competition round judges included Judge Richard Frye and Judge Colleen O’Donnell of the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas as well as experienced public service litigators and private practitioners from around the state.