Menu Toggle menu

Joel Chanvisanuruk Named the 2011 Nettie Birk/Dottie Sutton/Louise Erway Recipient

Congratulations to Joel Chanvisanuruk, the recipient of the 2011 Nettie Birk/Dottie Sutton/Louise Erway Award. The staff recognition award was formally announced at the Hooding Ceremony on Saturday, May 14, 2011.

As the Director of Academic Success Programs at the College of Law, Chanvisanuruk is in daily contact with law students through the workshops he coordinates and delivers, the one-on-one meetings he has with students to help them adapt to the rigorous law school curriculum, prepare for exams and counseling he provides in order to see that they meet their full potential as a law student.  He also oversees the Pre-Prep Program at the College of Law that helps 3L law students gear up for the bar examination.  Joel’s kindness and determination to help all students succeed in their academics was noted by all of the committee members and highlighted especially by the student members of the committee. 

One nomination boasted of Chanvisanuruk, “Since his arrival Joel has worked hand in glove with members of the faculty to help identify and work with students having difficulty with their course work.  He is also incredibly sensitive and helpful with students who are struggling with issues that impede their learning, counseling with them and making them aware of a number of help options offered at the University.”  While another nomination said, “He is very attentive to what you ask of him.  He does not give you boilerplate answers or pass you on to some website that isn’t helpful.  When you talk with him, it is really apparent that he wants to help you.”

This year’s selection committee included:  law students Joelle Johnson ’11, Austyn Sanders ’12,  Sophia Jannace ’13, professors Marianna Bettman and Michael Solimine, librarians Ron Jones and Lisa Wernke, Dean Jim Schoenfeld, and last year’s winner Jessica Butler.