Toggle menu

Moot Court Program

Moot Court is the student-run appellate advocacy honors society of the University of Cincinnati College of Law. To join the Moot Court Board, students must compete in the LexisNexis Moot Court Competition during the fall semester of their 2L year. During the Anderson Competition, students research and prepare an appellate brief, and argue their position before members of the local legal community who act as appellate court judges. A passing grade on the brief and oral advocacy competition gives students one non-classroom credit hour and fulfills their writing requirement. The top performers receive an invitation to join the Moot Court Board for the remainder of their law school career.

As members of the UC Law Moot Court Board, students are eligible for two non-classroom credit hours for each of their remaining semesters. To receive credit, students must: participate in competitions hosted by other law schools; host the August A. Rendigs, Jr. National Product Liability Moot Court Competition; and hold the intramural competition during their 3L year.

Student Leaders
  • Executive Director: Ashley Young
  • Financial Director: Luke Klaiber
  • Rendigs Co-Directors: Whitney Crim, Jim Barbiere
  • Intramural Competition Co-Directors: Mike Lasonczyk, Donielle Robinson
  • Rendigs Problem Writer: Danielle List
  • Competitions Director: Melena Siebert
  • Judges Co-Coordinators:  Olivia Luehrmann Amlung, Tyler Herrmann
  • 3L Members: Logan Bednarszuk, Simran Magowan, Rachel Pyles, Derek Tucker Dominic Velloz
  • 2L Members:  Miranda Anandappa, Jim Barbiere, Gray Chester, Whitney Crim, Christopher Diedling, Robert Jones, Luke Klaiber, Michael Lasonczyk, Danielle List, Donielle Robinson, Melena Siebert, Jennifer Wickman, Ashley Young
  • Best Brief: Donielle Robinson
  • Best Oral Advocate: Christopher Diedling
  • Best Overall Score: Danielle List
  • Faculty Advisor: Prof. Rachel Smith