Menu Toggle menu

All Alumni & the Legal Community are Welcome!

Celebration 2017: ReConnect. ReImagine. ReIgnite.Register Today »


Share with Us! Please complete the form in the link below...


Schedule of Events

Click links below to expand and see more information.

Stratford Heights Banquet Room, 2634 Stratford Avenue

Register, pick up materials, reconnect with classmates, meet law students, and enjoy breakfast


  9:30 a.m.: “State of the College” Address

Stratford Heights Banquet Room, 2634 Stratford Avenue

Verna Williams, Interim Dean and Nippert Professor of Law

Fourth for a reason.  The continued existence of Cincinnati Law is a testament to its ability to (re)imagine while remaining true to what makes it unique.  Building on this rich tradition and leveraging all its resources, Dean Williams will highlight new initiatives and directives that will ensure that Cincinnati Law remains a destination for great minds.




10:15 a.m.: "UCNext Series"

Stratford Heights Banquet Room, 2634 Stratford Avenue

The future is now and our alumni are actively contributing to the conversation. This “TEDx” style talk takes you from Silicon Valley to Washington D.C., from higher education to career resilience and beyond.

Neil Chaterjee, '02
Commissioner, Federal Energy Regulatory Commision,

Washington, DC

Melany Newby, '74

Former Vice Chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Madison,
Columbus, Ohio

Sally Moore

Sally Young Moore, '93
Award Winning Author,

Cincinnati, OH 



Kathy Woeber Gardner, '88

Partner, Montgomery Pacific LLP,

San Francisico, CA

Christopher Chapman, '93
President and CEO, AccessLex Institute,
West Chester, PA

Billy Martin 

William R. ("Billy") Martin, '76
Principal at Miles & Stockbridge
Washington, D.C.


11:30 a.m.: Luncheon & Featured Speaker, 2nd Floor Atrium

Chat and re-connect with classmates while enjoying delicious “southern style” cuisine, catered by Sweets and Meats BBQ, a client of Cincinnati Law’s Entrepreneurship and Community Development Clinic.


Luncheon Speaker

Aftab Pureval, ’08, Hamilton County Clerk of Courts

Does the world need another lawyer? Thought leader?

After taking a six month leave of absence from P&G, Aftab, a former Editor of Law Review and Fellow for the Domestic Violence Clinic, was elected County Clerk of Courts in 2016, becoming the first Democrat to serve as Hamilton County Clerk in more than 100 years.

Tours depart from University of Cincinnati College of Law Atrium

6:00 p.m.: Reception
7:30 p.m.: Dinner
8:30 p.m.: Exoneree Band Concert
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
50 East Freedom Way Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 333-7500

Parking and Directions for Event >>

Join your classmates for a festive cocktail reception, complimented by an open bar and tasty hors d’oeuvres, followed by a delicious dinner. At the close of the evening, you will be entertained by the acoustic sounds of the Exoneree Band comprised of musicians from around the country who were wrongfully imprisoned for a combined 100 years. One band member, Ray Towler, was freed through the work of Cincinnati Law’s Ohio Innocence Project.


UCNext Series and Luncheon                    $25 per person
Black and Red Evening Celebration           $90 per person
All Events                                                    $100 per person


Deadline to Register October 27, 2017.

Lodging Information

Below is a list of local hotel options during your stay.

Fairfield  Inn & Suites (Marriott), University Area
2500 South Market Street
Cincinnati, Ohio 45219 
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, Downtown
151 West Fifth Street
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
Kingsgate Marriott, University Area
151 Goodman Drive
Cincinnati, Ohio  45219

Parking & Directions for Red & Black Celebration at the Freedom Center

Guests for the Saturday evening Red and Black Celebration at the Freedom Center can find parking at the Banks Garage. This link includes garage hours, rates, and directions from 1-75 North, I-75 South, I-71 South, and from I-471. Additionally, the Freedom Center offers Valet Parking for guests, located in the front of the Freedom Center at 50 East Freedom Way.

Planning Committee

A big thanks to the Celebration 2017 Planning Committee: Marianna Bettman '77, Sarah Dillon, Marianne Emmert '84, Tom Giffin, Brian Howe '10, Mina Jones Jefferson '90, Paula Lampley '92, Mindy Lawson, Lisa Michel '88, Judge Beth Myers '82, Melany Newby '74, Marth Sarra '88, Beth Stautberg '92, Carolyn Taggart '78, Ann Taylor '92, Kevin Tidd '06, Danyel Wiley '15, and Sharon Zealey '84.