Menu Toggle menu

177th Law School Hooding To Celebrate Graduates

University of Cincinnati College of Law’s Hooding Ceremony will honor Senator Eric Kearney, along with this year’s graduates.

Cincinnati, OH—Ohio State Senator Eric Kearney ’89, along with 128 students, will be honored at the University of Cincinnati College of Law’s 177th Hooding Ceremony on May 8, 2010. This event, which will be held at historic Music Hall, begins at 1:00 p.m. until 2:45 p.m. In addition to honoring the senator, the ceremony will be highlighted by keynote speaker and law school graduate Justice Stephen J. Markman ’74 of the Michigan Supreme Court. 

“My College of Law colleagues and I are eager to celebrate this wonderful occasion with our students in the Class of 2010 and their family and friends,” said Dean Louis J. Bilionis, who will preside over the ceremony. “The day marks a major milestone in the lives of these young professionals. They’ve worked hard, accomplished much, and are embarking on careers that will be rich with achievement and positive contributions to society. We are thrilled for them and salute them.”  

At this year’s event, Senator Kearney will be presented with the Nicholas J. Longworth, III Alumni Achievement Award. This award recognizes law school graduates for their outstanding contributions to society. Senator Kearney is a champion of small business development, child safety, adoption, and crime prevention. Before joining the Ohio Senate, he founded and built one of the largest African-American owned publishing companies, Sesh Communications, publishers of The Cincinnati Herald, The Northern Kentucky Herald, The Dayton Defender, and other publications. He also practiced law with Strauss & Troy, LLP and was a partner with the firm Cohen, Todd, Kite & Stanford, LLC.

Additionally, the Goldman Prize for Teaching Excellence will be awarded. The Goldman Prize is given to law school professors and is based on their research and public service as they contribute to superior performance in the classroom. This year’s recipients are:

  • Marjorie Aaron, Professor of Practice and Director, Center for Practice. Professor Aaron is an active mediator, arbitrator, and trainer in negotiation and dispute resolution throughout the tri-state. She works with both students and practitioners utilizing innovative methods to teach principals of dispute resolution. 
  • Kristin Kalsem, Professor of Law. A co-director of the law school’s nationally-known joint-degree program in Law and Women’s Studies, Professor Kalsem writes in the areas of women’s legal history and the cultural study of law. Most recently, she has written about issues of gender, race, and class in the contexts of bankruptcy reform and consumer protection.  
  • Darrell Miller, Assistant Professor of Law. Professor Miller is a former litigator in the areas of complex and appellate proceedings for Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP. A dynamic and dedicated teacher, he also has written significant articles in the areas of constitutional law and civil rights.   

Keynote Speaker Justice Stephen J. Markman

Justice Markman, who serves on the Michigan Supreme Court, has a distinguished career in the legal field. He began his career on Capital Hill, working for seven years as the Chief Counsel of the United States Senate Subcommittee on the Constitution and as the Deputy Chief Counsel of the United States Senate Judiciary Committee. President Ronald Reagan nominated him to serve as Assistant Attorney General of the United States, a position he held from 1985 to 1989. In this role Judge Markman headed the Justice Department’s Office of Legal Policy, the office bearing principal responsibility for policy development within the department and coordination of the federal judicial selection process. He went on to serve as United States Attorney in Michigan, nominated by President George H.W. Bush. After working in government for many years, Judge Markman joined the firm of Miller, Canfield, Paddock & Stone. Two years later he became a member of the Michigan Court of Appeals, serving for four years until his appointment to the Michigan Supreme Court. 

Other award winners include:

  • James Michael Matthews, John W. Peck Award
  • Giles Roblyer, Stanley M. Chesley and Hon. Susan J. Dlott Prize for Litigation Excellence, William Worthington Prize, James B. Helmer, Jr. Law Review Award
  • Jonathan T. Amitrano, Corbin Prize
  • Jonathan W. Ford, Neil Weill Service Award
  • Sean M. Donovan, J. Carro Consummate Advocate Award
  • Ryan Nicholas Schmit, University Award
  • Amy Gill, College Moot Court Award
  • Megan Shuba, Augustin John McDonough Prize
  • Lori Goetz Heilman, Norbert Heinsheimer Essay Prise
  • Peter J. Oshea, James B. Helmer, Jr. Law Review Award


Check out our photo gallery here.