Menu Toggle menu

Law School Congratulates Class of 2009

On Sunday, May 10, 2009, 104 of the 111 University of Cincinnati College of Law graduates wrapped up their academic experience at the 176th College of Law Hooding ceremony. Highlights of this year’s ceremony included remarks by University of Cincinnati Interim President Monica Rimai, who is an attorney. She reminded students that the field of law is a noble, needed and necessary vocation that can take them anywhere. 

Alumnae Bridget Gannon McGraw ’03 was the recipient of the Nicholas Longworth III Alumni Achievement Award, which recognizes graduates for their outstanding contributions to society. McGraw, currently counsel for the General Electric Co.’s aviation supply chain, told students that “there’s no limit to accomplishment. Today, being an attorney is you they define it.” She also counseled them to develop good mentoring relationship and too get involved in something…anything. Just get involved.

Student Bar Association President Antonio C. Mazzaro spoke to his classmates about the importance of remaining supportive of each other. He also reminded them to remember their legacy: Be the Class of 2009—something special.

Lastly, the keynote address was given by law school alumnus, sports broadcaster and Cincinnati Bengal wide receiver, Cris Collinsworth ’91. He enjoyed one of the most memorable receiving careers in history during his years with the Bengals and is today widely respected as a football analyst.

Through stories of his life—both on and off the field—he shared his three core values: family, faith, and football. He concluded to the graduates “You are different today. Don’t forget your values and where you came from.” 

In addition to the hooding, several awards were announced. They included the following:

  • The John W. Peck Award (trial practice): Jerrod B. Fussnecker
  • The Stanley M. Chesley and Honorable Susan J. Dlott Prize (litigation curriculum): Christopher Bachner-Reimer
  • The Corbin Prize (trial practice and taxation): Miranda Hamrick
  • The Goldman Prize for Teaching Excellence: Professors Margaret Drew, Thomas Eisele, and Darrell Miller.

Take a look at a few scenes from the event.  (Pictures here!!)